Public Domain Images and Free-Motion Embroidery

I discovered another wonderful source for free public domain images at Karen’s Whimsy with a very generous ‘Terms of Use.’ She allows these images to be used freely for personal or commercial use as long as you don’t sell the image files themselves. She doesn’t even require you to link back if you use her images online, but of course I will; it’s not difficult and I like to give credit where credit is due and to share the treasure with everyone.

 

 

 

I really love the medieval through Victorian fashion pages, but I picked a classical Greek mythological creature which I then edited with GIMP (free open-source image editing program) to create a stencil outline from a colored picture.

Stencil created with GIMP

Stencil created with GIMP

 

 

 

I then used the stencil as a guide to create a 3-layered appliqued free-motion embroidery pattern. The best way to do this would be to use water soluble stabilizer, but I didn’t have any, so I traced my stencil onto tracing paper, taped that to my fabric, and sewed through the layers. I wouldn’t recommend this as the hardest part of this process is actually after you are done sewing and have to remove all the little bits of part.

 

 

 

And here is my embroidery sample:

Pegasus

One response to “Public Domain Images and Free-Motion Embroidery

Leave a Reply

